Drone Laws in Wyoming (2020)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in Wyoming.
Wyoming Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in Wyoming
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including Wyoming, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of Wyoming (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of Wyoming (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered over here. And there are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of Wyoming (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in Wyoming
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of Wyoming, and were created by the Wyoming Legislature.
This law requires the Wyoming Aeronautics Commission to develop rules regulating where unmanned aircraft can take off and land. The commission is also permitted to develop reasonable rules regulating the operation of unmanned aircraft through coordination with the unmanned aircraft industry and local governments. This law also specifies that the commission does not have the power to regulate unmanned aircraft operation in navigable airspace, and makes it unlawful to land an unmanned aircraft on the property of another person, but operators can pilot an unmanned aircraft over their own property.
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of Wyoming are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in Wyoming? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in Wyoming can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in Wyoming? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in Wyoming
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of Wyoming, and were created by various authorities within the state.
Our team wasn’t able to pin down any local drone laws in the state of Wyoming. If you know of one that should be listed here, please shoot us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com.
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in Wyoming
UAV Coach offers in-person training in select cities in Wyoming. The 2-hour, in-person training class provides hands-on flight time with an instructor, practice with intelligent flight modes, and education on what to do before, during, and after a flight mission to stay compliant and safe. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask your questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in Wyoming? Here you go: