Drone Laws in West Virginia (2020)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in West Virginia.
West Virginia Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in West Virginia
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including West Virginia, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of West Virginia (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of West Virginia (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered over here. And there are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of West Virginia (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in West Virginia
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of West Virginia, and were created by the West Virginia Legislature.
This law prohibits hunting with UAS.
This law requires drone operators to obtain permission from the State Park Superintendent to fly in any of West Virginia’s state parks. Upon approval, the drone operator must also register with the superintendent. The superintendent shall provide a list and map to the unmanned aircraft system operator of any prohibited areas within the park. Participants in drone operation activities assume full responsibility and liability for any risk or injury related to using an unmanned aircraft system.
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of West Virginia are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in West Virginia? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in West Virginia can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in West Virginia? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in West Virginia
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of West Virginia, and were created by various authorities within the state.
Our team wasn’t able to pin down any local drone laws in the state of West Virginia. If you know of one that should be listed here, please shoot us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com.
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in West Virginia
UAV Coach offers in-person training in select cities in West Virginia. The 2-hour, in-person training class provides hands-on flight time with an instructor, practice with intelligent flight modes, and education on what to do before, during, and after a flight mission to stay compliant and safe. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask your questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in West Virginia? Here you go: