Drone Laws in New Hampshire (2023)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in New Hampshire
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including New Hampshire, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of New Hampshire (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of New Hampshire (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required by the FAA to take The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST). You are also required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered. There are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of New Hampshire (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in New Hampshire
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of New Hampshire, and were created by the New Hampshire General Court.
According to the New Hampshire Department of Transportation and the New Hampshire General Court, New Hampshire has one state-wide law concerning the use of drones in the state.
This law prohibits the use of UAS for hunting, fishing, or trapping.
New Hampshire State Parks Drone Policy
This policy restricts the operation of drones within New Hampshire State Park boundaries. (The drone policy can be viewed on the NH State Park website by clicking the link above and selecting a park).
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of New Hampshire are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in New Hampshire? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in New Hampshire can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in New Hampshire? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in New Hampshire
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of New Hampshire, and were created by various authorities within the state.
Our team wasn’t able to pin down any local drone laws in the state of New Hampshire. If you know of one that should be listed here, please shoot us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com.
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in New Hampshire
UAV Coach offers in-person training in select cities in New Hampshire. The 2-hour, in-person training class provides hands-on flight time with an instructor, practice with intelligent flight modes, and education on what to do before, during, and after a flight mission to stay compliant and safe. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask your questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.
Sign up for an in-person drone flight training class in New Hampshire.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in New Hampshire? Here you go: