Drone Laws in Missouri (2020)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in Missouri.
Missouri Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in Missouri
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including Missouri, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of Missouri (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of Missouri (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered over here. And there are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of Missouri (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in Missouri
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of Missouri, and were created by the Missouri General Assembly.
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of Missouri are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in Missouri? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in Missouri can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in Missouri? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in Missouri
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of Missouri, and were created by various authorities within the state.
This ordinance requires drone operators to have liability insurance and to obtain a permit from Jackson County before operating a drone within any Jackson County park. Additionally, any person operating a radio-controlled aircraft within designated areas in Jackson County parks shall prominently display on the transmitter at all times frequency flags and channel numbers. Also, no person shall operate any radio-controlled flying device with a sound level in excess of 98 decibels on a weighted scale when measured from a distance of 50 or more feet.
This city code prohibits the operation of drones from a location within any park, except in areas that are designated for such use or a special permit has been issued by the Director.
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in Missouri
UAV Coach offers in-person training in select cities in Missouri. The 2-hour, in-person training class provides hands-on flight time with an instructor, practice with intelligent flight modes, and education on what to do before, during, and after a flight mission to stay compliant and safe. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask your questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.
Looking to get in more practice flying your drone? In addition to taking a drone flight training class with one of our trained instructors, you can also scout out safe and legal places to fly on your own using our guide to the Best Places to Fly a Drone in St. Louis.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in Missouri? Here you go: