Drone Laws in Mississippi (2023)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in Mississippi.
Mississippi Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in Mississippi
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including Mississippi, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of Mississippi (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of Mississippi (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required by the FAA to take The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST). You are also required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered. There are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of Mississippi (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in Mississippi
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of Mississippi, and were created by the Mississippi Legislature.
This law establishes that using a drone to commit “peeping tom” activities is a felony.
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of Mississippi are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in Mississippi? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in Mississippi can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in Mississippi? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in Mississippi
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of Mississippi, and were created by various authorities within the state.
Our team wasn’t able to pin down any local drone laws in the state of Mississippi. If you know of one that should be listed here, please shoot us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in Mississippi? Here you go:
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in Mississippi
If you’re new to drones or looking to take your flight skills to the next level, we offer hands-on drone flight training in the Biloxi area. Our classes start at 2-hours long, and our expert instructors walk you through what to do before, during and after your flight—you’ll practice intelligent flight modes and learn how to stay safe but also how to get the shots or data you need. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.