Drone Laws in Delaware (2021)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in Delaware.
Delaware Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in Delaware
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including Delaware, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of Delaware (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of Delaware (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered over here. And there are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of Delaware (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in Delaware
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of Delaware, and were created by the Delaware General Assembly.
This law makes it illegal to fly a drone over events with more than 5,000 people in attendance, including sporting events, concerts, automobile races, festivals. It also makes it illegal to fly a drone over critical infrastructure, which includes but is not limited to: oil & gas refiners, power plants, military facilities, government buildings, and water treatment facilities. Finally, this law prohibits cities and towns in Delaware from creating their own drone laws by claiming pre-emption for the creation of all such laws for the Delaware General Assembly.
In addition to the above law the Delaware state website states that drones are generally prohibited in Delaware state parks, but may be allowed to fly under special circumstances as determined by the director of the Division of Parks & Recreation.
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of Delaware are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in Delaware? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in Delaware can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in Delaware? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in Delaware
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of Delaware, and were created by various authorities within the state.
This town law makes it illegal to fly a drone on the beach, boardwalk, or in any public area within the town limits.
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in Deleware
UAV Coach offers in-person training in select cities in Deleware. The 2-hour, in-person training class provides hands-on flight time with an instructor, practice with intelligent flight modes, and education on what to do before, during, and after a flight mission to stay compliant and safe. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask your questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in Delaware? Here you go: