Drone Laws in Oregon (2023)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in Oregon.
Oregon Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in Oregon
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including Oregon, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of Oregon (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of Oregon (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required by the FAA to take The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST). You are also required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered. There are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of Oregon (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in Oregon
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of Oregon, and were created by the Oregon Legislative Assembly.
According to the Oregon Department of Transportation and the Oregon Legislative Assembly, Oregon has four state-wide laws concerning the use of drones in the state.
- Modifies the law prohibiting UAS weaponization, making it a class C felony to fire a bullet or projectile from a weaponized UAS.
- Allows law enforcement to use UAS to reconstruct an accident scene.
- Prohibits the use of UAS over private property in a manner that intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly harasses or annoys the owner or occupant of the property.
This law modifies definitions related to UAS and makes it a class A misdemeanor to operate a weaponized UAS, and regulates the use of drones by public bodies, including requiring policies and procedures for the retention of data. This law also prohibits the use of UAS near critical infrastructure, including correctional facilities.
This law specifies the fees for the registration of public UAS.
- Allows a law enforcement agency to operate a drone if it has a warrant and for enumerated exceptions including for training purposes.
- Requires that a drone operated by a public body be registered with the Oregon Department of Aviation (DOA), which shall keep a registry of drones operated by public bodies.
- Creates new crimes and civil penalties for mounting weapons on drones and interfering with or gaining unauthorized access to public drones.
- Allows that, under certain conditions, a landowner can bring an action against someone flying a drone lower than 400 feet over their property if they notified the owner/operator that they did not want a drone flown over their property at that height.
- A person may not take action if:
- The drone is lawfully in the flight path for landing at an airport, airfield or runway; and
- The drone is in the process of taking off or landing
- A person may not take action if:
- Requires that the DOA must report to legislative committees on the status of federal regulations and whether UAV’s operated by private parties should be registered in a manner similar to the requirement for other aircraft.
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of Oregon are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in Oregon? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in Oregon can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in Oregon? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in Oregon
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of Oregon and were created by various authorities within the state.
City of Portland—Municipal Law // 2007
This city ordinance prohibits drones in or over any city park, except in places that have been designated for such use by the Director.
Oregon Metro Parks—Park Rules // 2018
The park ordinance prohibits the use of drones in the boundaries of any Oregon Metro Park, except in areas that are designated for such use.
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in Oregon
UAV Coach offers in-person training in select cities in Oregon. The 2 hour, in-person training class provides hands-on flight time with an instructor, practice with intelligent flight modes, and education on what to do before, during, and after a flight mission to stay compliant and safe. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask your questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.
Sign up for an in-person drone flight training class in Oregon.
Looking to get in more practice flying your drone? In addition to taking a drone flight training class with one of our trained instructors, you can also scout out safe and legal places to fly on your own using our guide to the Best Places to Fly a Drone in Portland.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in Oregon? Here you go: