Drone Laws in Louisiana (2020)
A list of drone regulations and links for people flying drones in Louisiana.
Louisiana Drone Regulations
Federal Drone Laws in Louisiana
These are drone laws that apply to every state in the U.S., including Louisiana, and were created by the federal government.
To fly a drone as a commercial pilot in the state of Louisiana (i.e. for work / business purposes) you are required to follow the requirements of the FAA’s Part 107 Small UAS Rule (Part 107), which includes passing the FAA’s Aeronautical Knowledge Test to obtain a Remote Pilot Certificate.
To fly a drone as a hobbyist in the state of Louisiana (i.e. for fun / pleasure) you are required to follow the FAA’s recreational model aircraft rules. One of those rules is that if your drone weighs more than 0.55 lbs (250g), you’ll need to pay $5 to get it registered over here. And there are additional rules when it comes to airspace and altitude, keeping your drone within line-of-sight while you’re flying, and more.
To fly a drone as a government employee in the state of Louisiana (i.e., for a police or fire department) you may either operate under the FAA’s Part 107 rule or obtain a federal Certificate of Authorization (COA).
Note: The content on this page is meant for informational purposes only, and is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in Louisiana
These are drone laws that apply to the entire state of Louisiana, and were created by the Louisiana State Legislature.
This law specifies that only the state may regulate UAS, pre-empting local regulation.
This law adds intentionally crossing a police cordon using a drone to the crime of obstructing an officer. This law also allows law enforcement or fire department personnel to disable UAS in the area if they endanger the public or an officer’s safety.
This law prohibits using a drone to conduct surveillance of a school, school premises, or correctional facilities, and establishes a fine of up to $2,000 and up to six months in jail for violations.
This law authorizes the establishment of registration and licensing fees for UAS in the state, with a limit of $100.
This law adds the use of UAS to the crimes of voyeurism and video voyeurism in the state.
This law specifies that surveillance by an unmanned aircraft constitutes criminal trespass, under certain circumstances.
This law regulates the use of UAS in agricultural commercial operations.
This law creates the crime of unlawful use of an unmanned aircraft system, defined as the intentional use of a drone to conduct surveillance of a targeted facility without the owner’s prior written consent. This crime is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and imprisonment for six months. A second offense can be punished by a fine up to $1,000 and one year imprisonment.
All drone pilots operating commercially in the state of Louisiana are subject to the FAA’s Part 107 rules. Learn more about the FAA’s certification process to obtain a commercial drone license in this free guide.
Know something we don’t about drone laws in Louisiana? Send us an email at support[at]uavcoach[dot]com. We do our best to keep this list up-to-date, but the reality is that given the pace of the small unmanned aerial system (sUAS) industry and how municipal governments are responding, drone regulations in Louisiana can change throughout the year, and changes can be hard to track. If we missed something, please reach out to let us know.
Why fly a drone in Louisiana? To get great shots like these!
Local Drone Laws in Louisiana
These are drone laws that apply only to certain regions, cities, or counties within the state of Louisiana, and were created by various authorities within the state.
This park rule prohibits the use of drones in any parks that are owned by the Audubon Nature Institute.
This park rule prohibits the use of drones within City Park, violating this rule can result in your park pass being revoked.
Take a Drone Flight Training Class in Louisiana
UAV Coach offers in-person training in select cities in Louisiana. The 2-hour, in-person training class provides hands-on flight time with an instructor, practice with intelligent flight modes, and education on what to do before, during, and after a flight mission to stay compliant and safe. During the class, you’ll also get a chance to ask your questions about regulations, software, flight operations management, checklists and more.
Looking to get in more practice flying your drone? In addition to taking a drone flight training class with one of our trained instructors, you can also scout out safe and legal places to fly on your own using our guide to the Best Places to Fly a Drone in New Orleans.
Want to get a feel for the kind of footage you could get flying a drone in Louisiana? Here you go: